Save the Date for Our Annual Celebration


Join us to celebrate work that brings together diverse people creating common-sense solutions toward a healthy and toxic-free future, with justice for all!

Celebration for Our Healthy Future
Thursday, November 29

Beautiful new venue, with free parking!
Congregation Bet Ha'am
81 Westbrook Street
South Portland, Maine

RSVP (Discounts for students, candidates, elected office holders)

Sign up for the Host Committee—and get free tickets!

Sponsor the Celebration

Community members, contributors, lawmakers, grassroots leaders, and healthcare providers will join in cheering for work in Maine and nationwide to get toxic chemicals out of children's and families' food, drinking water, and products.

We'll also highlight our work and partnerships to keep Maine families healthy by building a sustainable, biobased economy where good green jobs help revitalize rural communities.

Our keynote speaker this year is Dr. Ami Zota, ScD, MS, an assistant professor in the Department of Environmental & Occupational Health at George Washington University in Washington, D.C., who is recognized for her research on toxic chemicals in food and her environmental justice advocacy.

Environmental justice is a cornerstone of the Strategy Center's work, whether it's justice for rural Mainers whose drinking water is contaminated with arsenic, or, nationwide, for lower-income communities and communities of color who are disproportionately exposed to toxic chemicals in food.

Dr. Zota is passionate about bringing these issues to light and believes, "Communities can use science as a tool for empowerment and organizing."  

We'll also honor our 2018 Leadership Award Winners, inspiring leaders for public health in Maine and nationwide:

Frank Hatch Environmental Health Leadership Award: Ginger Jordan-Hillier, pioneering environmental health advocate and organizer in achieving landmark public health law in Maine

Bettie Kettell Award for Medical-Professional Leadership: Leonardo Trasande, M.D., M.P.P., internationally recognized children's environmental health leader 

Grassroots Leadership Award: Mano en Mano, community organization that works with farmworkers and immigrants to settle and thrive in Maine

Business Leadership Award: Kai Smith, successful Maine entrepreneur focused on local, mission-driven, and biobased businesses

We hope you'll join us the evening of November 29.



Thank you to our sponsors!


Maine Public Health Association

Physicians for Social Responsibility — Maine Chapter

Toxics Action Center

Safer Chemicals Healthy Families

Maine Indoor Air Quality Council

Maine People's Alliance

Sierra Club Maine

Maine Council of Churches


Thank you to our Host Committee!

LEADERS: Ryan Bouldin and Elizabeth Levy, Joel Davis and Sara Shed, Michael Herz and Kate Josephs, Peter Millard and Emily Wesson, Robert O'Connor and Monica Halas, Beverly and Ken Paigen, Mac and Rosemary Sexton, Kristine Stratton, Carol and Joe Wishcamper

CHANGE AGENTS: Becky Bartovics, Dr. Gail Carlson and Dr. Philip Nyhus, Lalla Carothers and Jonathan Labaree, Carla Dickstein, Rich Killmer, Alain Nahimana, Deb and Syd Sewall, Kimberly Simmons, Ron Stegall, Representative Denise Tepler, Ann Fowler Wallace

ADVOCATES: Rachael Alfond, Charlotte Brody, Richard Drury, Mary Dunn, Ken Geiser, Ellen Grant and Kevin Carley, Sarah and Jeremy Gabrielson, Marie Gunning, Martha Leggat and Stephen Barr, Patrick MacRoy, Madeline Miller, Bill Phillips, Hon. Hannah Pingree and Jason Mann, Tom Platz, Anne H. Russell, Robert Sellin and Natalie West, Elyse C. Tipton

SUPPORTERS: Karin Anderson, Al and Carol Curran, Bruce and Sandy Cort, Liz Hitchcock, Shawn Hunt, Mark Hyland and Faye Luppi, JD'A Consulting, Inc., Ginger Jordan-Hillier, Dr. Daniel Oppenheim and Layne Gregory, Jeff Saffer, Senator Rebecca Millett and Kevin Kobel, Sharon Rosen and John Newton, Amy Wiston and Steve Feder