Honoring Senator Robert Foley for Legislative Leadership


Senator Robert Foley, R-York, represents Senate District 34.

Sen. Foley demonstrated great leadership for the health of Maine children and families as lead Senate co-sponsor of LD 1433, the Safe Food Packaging Act, which will protect Mainers from toxic PFAS and phthalates by phasing out these dangerous chemicals from food packaging in Maine.

“Several years ago I became involved with the banning of BPA in baby products here in Maine,” said Sen. Foley. “Dangerous chemicals in our food stream is of great concerns to me. Being the Senator of a neighboring district where PFAS was detected in the soil of a local farmer from the spreading of sludge made my decision to co-sponsor and support this bill a legislative priority.”

In addition to his 40-year career in the insurance industry, Sen. Foley has served his community and the state of Maine in many different roles. Prior to being elected to the Senate, Senator Foley served the people of House District 7 for two consecutive terms. He also served on the Wells Board of Selectmen for 15 years, eight of those years as board chair. He has also served on several boards for the Town of Wells including the Charter Commission, Comprehensive Planning Committee, and the Harbor Advisory Committee.

Sen. Foley was a member and past president of the Wells Rotary Club for 30 years, and has served on a number of environmental boards and committees, including the State Board of Environmental Protection, where he was chair for two years. He is the founder of Save Our Shores Maine and the Maine Coastal Coalition, and he also served on the York Hospital Board of Trustees for six years.

Please join us at the Celebration for Our Healthy Future on Thursday, October 17, to recognize Sen. Foley's leadership.

* * *

Our Legislative Leadership Award is given to a local, state, or federal legislator or legislators whose exceptional leadership embodies integrity, compassion, dedication, and courage in working for strong bipartisan support of policies in service to environmental health. Award winners have demonstrated extraordinary leadership in developing and championing policy that is responsive to the needs of their constituents. Working across political party lines, they have engaged their colleagues in valuable, progressive public service.